Virginia state law requires students to receive 120 total hours of instruction in order to complete the nurse aide training program. 80 of these hours are in the classroom and 40 hours are in a direct client care setting. At Gee’s we require 130 hours of instruction in order to complete the nurse aide training program. 90 of these hours will be conducted in a classroom and 40 hours will be completed while performing direct client care. These additional hours have been approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. Clinical rotations take place at Manassas Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. Transportation to and from the clinical site is the responsibility of the student. It is accessible by bus. See course schedule for dates and times.
A textbook, workbook and class schedule will be provided along with handouts on the first day of class. The textbook and workbook are included with the course fee. DVD instruction and online instruction is also provided.
Jetta. F. (2014). Hartman’s Nursing Assistant Care: The Basics. (4 th )Ed. Albuquerque, NM. Hartman Publishing.
Workbook (2014). Hartman’s Nursing Assistant Care: The Basics. (4th)Ed.
Albuquerque, NM. Hartman Publishing.
Each student is responsible for his or her own books, workbooks and class hand-outs. Bring your textbook and workbook to class each session. If you lose books or other materials, please inform your instructor. You must purchase any items lost.
Watch with a second hand
Blood pressure cuff
Small pocket notebook
Blue or black pens
Examinations and Grading
10 unit quizzes-40% of final grade
Practice exam-20% of final grade
Final exam-40% of final grade
Skills lab-pass or fail
Clinical-pass or fail
- Passing score for all quizzes and examinations is 80%.
- Students with average quiz score below 80% on first three quizzes will be
placed on probation.
- Skills lab grade of pass or fail is determined by attendance, initiative and practice of required skills.
- Clinical grade of pass or fail is determined by attendance, initiative and safe care of residents in a long term care facility.
GCTI is a one level facility with hallways, doors, and classroom seating that meets ADA guidelines.
Classroom dress: Clean and neat. No bare midriff, tank tops, halters. Clinical uniform: blue scrubs, white shoes, white socks, G.C.T.I. student name badge (provided). Hair must be secured away from face. Students may wear small stud earrings and a wedding band for jewelry. Nails must be trimmed and free of polish. Visible body piercing are not authorized.
Code of Conduct
Students are expected to act in a professional manner at all times. Sexual harassment will not be tolerated. Students are expected to uphold the Patient’s Bill of Rights and Resident’s Rights in all resident interactions. Unacceptable behavior will result in removal from the class or clinical site and may result in expulsion from the program.
Regular attendance is critical. Students must call the school one (1) hour prior to any absence. Extensive absenteeism may be cause for dismissal from the program. All work and time must be completed satisfactorily to qualify for graduation from the program.
Plan to arrive fifteen (15) to thirty (30) minutes early to clinical site. The student who is going to be late must call the school or clinical site as soon as they know they will be late. Being late more than once a week may be grounds for dismissal.
Cell Phone Use
Place your cell phone on vibrate prior to class. Cell phone use is restricted to emergencies only.
Any incidence of cheating during an exam constitutes a zero for the quiz or exam with no opportunity for retaking the test. Talking, looking at another student’s notes or papers during an exam is considered cheating. Students who finish an exam early may go outside or to the library and study until all students complete the test.
Inclement Weather Policy
Gee’s Career Training Institute follows Prince William County School’s inclement weather policy. If Prince William County Schools are delayed, G.C.T.I. is delayed. If Prince William County Schools are cancelled, G.C.T. I.’s classes will be cancelled.
Three-ring notebook with pockets or a folder with pockets
Quiz and exam average of 80% or above
90 hours of classroom attendance
40 hours of clinical attendance
Tuition paid in full
Negative PPD/ Chest X- Ray result
All weekly quizzes submitted
Other important information
The fee for the state competency exam is to ninety four ($94) dollars, depending on what form of the test you select. Each student is responsible for paying their own testing fee.
We wish you success in your studies and in preparation for the Nurse Aide Certification Exam. Please share any suggestions or concerns you have about the program with your instructors or school administrator.
Elizabeth Brown, R.N.
Gifty Kotey, R.N.